More Waiting, More Wondering

I’ve had a couple of stories up on Scribophile for review, and my reviewers don’t seem to be getting it. I wonder if it is just me and I am not explaining enough; or if I am falling victim to literary people being forced to read and critique genre fiction, and they are just not getting it because they don’t have a frame of reference.

There are certain things you’ll see in a vampire story that means: This is a vampire story. There are others for the Singularity and body modification as well. Am I expecting too much that these ideas have filtered into the mainstream enough?

After all, how the hell do I explain the Singularity seriously while still keeping it a piece of flash fiction? And personally, I thought fangs mentioned in a story usually pointed to vampires!

So is it me, or the reviewers at fault for ignoring the genres?

Also, I am still waiting to hear back from Daily Science Fiction about one of my stories. I don’t know if I should be getting excited or concerned.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

