Halloween

Tonight, I’ve been doing more bouncing around, listening to music than actually trying to write. I stumbled onto this a bit earlier, and along with the soundtrack to “Kick Ass” and Tricky’s new album “Mixed Race” I haven’t gotten a whole lot of writing done.

It is three discs of Halloween party awesome. And for once, it is collection of top-notch, Halloween influenced songs rather than old novelty tracks performed by kids. (I’ve sold plenty of that tripe in my time.) Granted, there’s plenty of novelty, and luckily it is mostly high quality originals. It is put out by EMI instead of an off label, so there’s plenty of money going into licensing. It kicks into gear with Michael Jackson’s “Thriller” and party’s on from there.

Thankfully, somewhere on the third disc, it includes Sheb Wooley’s “Purple People Eater” which is providing the inspiration for the latest bit of writing I am banging my head against the wall over. I’ve got a band. I’ve got a producer talking in my head. I’ve got a general idea where I want it to go. I just don’t know how to get it there.

I also don’t know if the story falls into Fair Use rules, or if I could even publish it if I finish it. Frankly, I probably shouldn’t care and just write the damn thing for practice. If there really is a story there, that is. I need to do some major brainstorming.I need to figure out how to drop enough hints, create some conflict, so it will all erupt into a bloody end.

. . . If only the tunes weren’t so good.

As for the holiday itself, K. works and I will be home alone peering out of the window to watch the Trick or Treaters. There weren’t any roaming our streets last year, so we’ll see about this year. The city is planning on three nights of it, so who knows. And we still have to procure candy.

In the meantime, here’s some Meatloaf for you costumed children.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Halloween

  1. K says:

    😦 Wish I could have stayed home.

Leave a Reply

